💚🖤 The first underage Title in the history of the Club💚🖤 U12B Southern Divisinal Champions 1984💚🖤 click on link

U-12B Southern Divisional Champions 1984

We rewind now, all the way back to the 80s in fact and the first ever underage title won by a team from the club. That team was the U-12s 0f 1984 who won the U-12B Divisional title that year, beating Aodh Ruadh B in the semi-final, before going on to beat St.Nauls in the final played in Tir Chonaill Park. It was a landmark victory that really helped launch the club onto the underage scene in the South. In the early years of the Club, underage football had been of secondary concern and fielded teams only sporadically, and it would be the 80s before any concerted effort was made in developing the players of the future.

The managers of that first successful Naomh Brid team were two of the driving forces in developing underage football within the club, Pierce Ferriter, Headmaster at St.Eunans NS Laghey, who had done great work with his pupils, winning four County Titles in the mid to late 80s, whilst Eamonn Gibbons was one of the driving forces in developing the U-10 team which appeared in 3 consecutive Southern U-10A finals, before he moved to Galway.

Whilst the 1984 U-12B title may not be the most prestigious title in the clubs history, it was an important step, the one that got the ball rolling, as by the end of the 80s, Naomh Brid had lifted three Southern A/Division 1 titles, appeared in a County Division 1 final and were now mixing it with the likes of Aodh Ruadh and Four Masters on a regular basis. Underage football in the club had well and come of age.

Team Photo

Back Row L-R: Pierce Ferriter(Team Mentor), Aiden Travers(Ballinakillew Mtn), Adrian Gallagher(Tullywee), Stephen Travers(Laghey Barr), Eoin Ferriter(Tullywee), Gabriel McGrory(Pullinarenny), Pauric Gallagher(Greagh), Kirean McIntyre(Trummon), Declan Rooney(Laghey), Brendan Travers(Drummanus), Darren Walsh(Ballintra), Eamonn Gibbons(Team Mentor)

Front L-R: Dominic McGrory(Ballydermot), Anthony McGrath(Laghey Barr), Declan McGlinchey(Rathneeny Barr), Aiden Gallagher(Greagh), Mark Mullaney(Ballintra), Vincent Gallagher(Pullinarenny), Enda Ferriter(Tullywee), Justin Cranwell(Ballintra), PJ Daly(Ballintra), Paul McGroarty(Moneymore), Shane Gallagher(Ballintra)